2014 Gentleman Award, voting begins

MILAN – The Gentleman Award is back for its 19th edition, with top hosts Serena Autieri and Massimo Caputi. We’re ready for football fans to elect the new gentlemen of football: voting begins today, Friday 18 April and runs until 30 April, i.e. a week before the 2014 award ceremony which will take place during the traditional gala evening at Milan’s Marriott hotel on Thursday 8 May.

The philosophy and prestige of this important prize grow stronger with every passing year. Loyalty, sportsmanship, fair play and style are the attributes considered and recognised during the course of the gala evening which has become a big event on the Milanese sporting calendar.

Prizes are given to one AC Milan player and one from Inter, as well as a Serie A star chosen by fans from any team. For the third straight season, a panel of journalists from the Italian association of sports writers will elect the Serie B Gentleman in honour of the late Piermario Morosini, from among all the captains of the teams involved in a long, hard season. Everyone is also delighted that the Lega Pro Gentleman has been confirmed for another year, to be awarded by the president of Lega Pro.

The Gentlemen finalists from Inter and AC Milan will be chosen based on voting at gentlemen.it, on our Facebook page and on the two clubs’ official websites. The Serie A Gentleman will be chosen by internet users at the official site premiogentleman.it/ and from the votes collected with the help of gazzetta.it, a partner in the project.

All iPhone users can download the ‘Premio Gentleman Fair Play’ app for free from the Appstore.

The following awards will also be presented: AC Milan’s and Inter’s goals of the season in collaboration with Inter Channel and Milan Channel, Gentleman Man of Sport, Gentleman Lifetime, Gentleman Showbusiness.

The Gentleman Award will this year support the project “In Campo con il Cuore”, the charity raising money for the spread of defibrillators in sport.

Below is a list of the candidates for the Serie A Gentleman award. You can vote via gazzetta.it, premiogentleman.it, the Apple app or on the award’s official Facebook page:

Perin (Genoa)

Nagatomo (Inter)

Pirlo (Juventus)

Di Natale (Udinese)

Totti (Roma)

Biabiany (Parma)

Denis (Atalanta)

Higuain (Napoli)

G. Rossi (Fiorentina)

Kak� ( AC Milan)

The event began in 1996 as an idea by Gianfranco Fasan and Federico Aloisi and is supported by Coni, FIGC, Lega Calcio Serie A, Serie B, Lega Pro, A.I.P.S., GLGS-USSI Lombardia (Lombardy association of sports writers), Associazione Italiana Calciatori (Italian footballers union), AC Milan, FC Internazionale, FICTS and the Fondazione Circolo della Stampa.

President of the organising committee – gfm@stadiosansiro.it

Press Office – Luca Uccello 339.27.57.144339.27.57.144