Result Champions League: Athletic Bilbao 3 – 1 Napoli, Wednesday 27 August 2014

italyflagitalyticketseventsticketsinitalyfootballticketsinItalyOperaticketsinitalyconcertsticketsinItalyBy Anna ItaliaAnna Italia logo
Follow me in Twitter ,
Facebook: Anna Italia Page


A sad day for Italian football!    Napoli lost against Athletic Club Bilbao and are eliminated in the Champions League.   The final aggregate result is 4-2.     However, Napoli will continue their European adventure playing now in Europa League.

  • First Leg: Napoli 1 – 1 Atheltic Club Bilbao, August 19, 2014
  • Second Leg: Athletic Club Bilbao 3 – 1 Napoli, Wednesday 27 August 2014.

Napoli opening the score in the 47th minute with midfielder Marek Hamsik.  A powerful left footed shot from about 20 meters.  Yet, the joy crushed after Athletic Bilbao reverted the result to claim the victory.  It’s sad to admit that this defeat was in part of Napoli’s defense errors too.  The mistake by goakeeper Rafael and defender Albiol resulting in the goal by Aduriz in front of the empty net.

Official formations – lineups:

NAPOLI: Rafael, Maggio, Albiol, Koulibaly, Ghoulam (56′ Britos), Gargano, Jorginho, Callejon, Hamsik (70′ Insigne), Mertens (77′ Duvan), Higuain.

Subs not used:  Andujar, Henrique, Zuniga, Inler.

Coach: Rafa Benitez

ATHLETIC CLUB BILBAO: Iraizoz, De Marcos, Gurpegi, Laporte, Balenziaga, Iturraspe, Rico, Susaeta (72′ Lopez), Benat (58′ Gomez), Muniain (85′ San Josè), Aduriz.

Coach: Ernesto Valverde

Goals: 47′ M. Hamsik, 61′ Aduriz, 69′ Aduriz, 74′ Gomez

Booked: ammoniti Susaeta, Ghoulam, Gargano




Napoli official starting lineup against Athletic Club Bilbao


Napoli midfielder Marek Hamsik celebrating after scoring against Athletic Bilbao




UEFA Champions League ticketsUEFA Champions League Playoffs, Second Leg

Athletic Club Bilbao 3 – 1 Napoli
Wednesday 27 August 2014
Estadio de San Mamés – Bilbao
20:45CET (20:45 local time)
Play-offs, Second leg
Referee: Cüneyt Çakır (TUR)
Assistant referees: Bahattin Duran (TUR), Tarik Ongun (TUR)
Fourth official: Çem Satman (TUR)
Additional assistant referees: Barış Şimşek (TUR), Süleyman Abay (TUR)