(IN THE PHOTO: Honda celebrates his goal versus Juventus)
MILAN – Milan claimed the 2014 edition of the TIM Trophy, the annual pre-season competition, after wins over Juventus and Sassuolo at the Mapei Stadium in Reggio Emilia. Each match lasted 45 minutes and for more on all the rules and regulations of the competition, please click here. This is how the evening unfolded, which ended with Milan winning the competition for the fourth time: 
FIRST MATCH: MILAN-JUVENTUS 1–0The match was played at a high tempo with both sides starting brightly. Poli was dangerous early on with a diving header which was blocked by the Juventus defence, while Menez tried his luck with the rebound, but the bianconeri defence held firm to clear away the danger.Juve responded through Pogba although Milan goalkeeper Diego Lopez did well to block the French midfielder’s shot from inside the penalty area.On 19 minutes Honda came extremely close to breaking the deadlock. De Sciglio did brilliantly down the left flank and played a teasing ball across the penalty area which found its way through to the Japanese midfielder whose effort was deflected out for a corner.Ten minutes later though Honda made no mistakes and the midfielder got his name on the score-sheet. De Sciglio caused Juventus problems once again down the left side of the pitch and provided the assist for Honda who connected with the Italian defender’s assist to give Milan a 1-0 lead.Milan went in search of a second goal and Menez was dangerous on the counter-attack, only to be let down by his final pass for Muntari which was out of reach of the Ghana midfielder.Honda seemed determined to get his second goal of the match and his curling free-kick whistled inches over the cross bar moments later.In the final minutes of the match Pogba flashed a ball across the face of the Milan penalty area with Giovinco inches away from getting a decisive touch and equalising.This is how Milan and Juve lined-up:Milan: Diego Lopez; Abate, Alex, Bonera (c), De Sciglio; Poli, Essien, Muntari; Honda, Pazzini, Menez. Subs: Abbiati, Agazzi, Albertazzi, Armero, Rami, Zaccardo, Zapata, Cristante, Mastalli, Saponara, El Shaarawy, Mastour. Coach: Filippo Inzaghi.Juventus: Storari; Lichtsteiner, Bonucci, Ogbonna, Evra; Vidal, Pirlo, Pogba; Marchisio; Tevez, Giovinco. Subs: Rubinho, Audero, Romulo, Chiellini, Caceres, Pepe, Motta, Padoin, Asamoah, Vitale, Pereyra, Mattiello, Marrone. Coach: Allegri. 
SECOND MATCH: JUVENTUS-SASSUOLO 1-0Roberto Pereyra helped the bianconeri bounce back from their defeat to Milan and scored the winning goal for Juventus minutes before the end of the match. THIRD MATCH: MILAN-SASSUOLO 2-0After just 6 minutes Milan won a penalty thanks to a Menez counter-attack and shot which was handled in the area by Terranova. Menez then stepped up and struck his penalty well to beat Pomini.Sassuolo’s reaction was immediate and Berardi launched a left foot screamer from distance which Abbiati was equal to and pushed away for a corner.However, on 19 minutes Milan opened up a two goal cushion after hitting Sassuolo on the counter-attack. Honda provided the final pass for Stephan El Shaarawy who controlled the ball, made his way through on goal and kept his cool inside the penalty-area to slot the ball past the Sassuolo goalkeeper for a 2-0 lead.Minutes later Menez nearly made it 3-0 with an angled drive which flashed inches wide of the far post.Sassuolo made changes in an effort to turn the tide, but Milan were full of confidence as El Shaarawy’s curling effort from the edge of the area was kept out by Pomini.With Milan in control, coach Filippo Inzaghi gave Essien and Menez a rest and brought on Poli and Pazzini while there was also time for teenage star Mastour to make an appearance in the final minutes coming on for Honda who impressed in both matches of the TIM Trophy and was awarded the best player of the tournament.This is how Milan lined-up for the third and final match of the TIM Trophy:Milan: Abbiati; De Sciglio, Zapata, Rami, Armero; Cristante, Essien, Saponara; Honda, Menez, El Shaarawy.Sassuolo: Pomini; Gazzola, Terranova, Cannavaro, Longhi; Chibsah, Magnanelli, Brighi; Berardi, Flores, Floccari. 
For all the photos meanwhile from the victorious edition of the TIM Trophy 2014, please click here.