MILAN – Milan lost 3-2 to Palermo in a dramatic finale at the Viareggio Tournament. Despite being down to ten men, the Rossoneri were drawing 2-2 in the dying seconds of added time but Bentivegna struck for his second goal. 
The Rossoneri were leading 1-0 at half time through Di Molfetta but were pegged back from the penalty spot through Bentivegna on 72 minutes. Six minutes later goalkeeper Donnarumma was sent off for a last-man foul on Bentivegna well outside the area.
With just two minutes left LaGumina put the side from Sicily in front but a minute later Davide Calabria drew Milan level only for the match to end in heartache.
They were also edged out 2-1 by PSV in their opening group stage match on Monday. The rossoneri made a dream start, breaking the deadlock on 18 minutes through a Michael Fabbro header following a precise cross out on the left from Di Molfetta. It allowed Milan to take a 1-0 lead into the break.
The even nature of the match continued after the restart, but the Dutch side hit Milan on the counter-attack on 58 minutes and found an equaliser through Hiwat. Just under 10 minutes from the end of the match, Hiwat completed his brace to give PSV a 2-1 victory.A reminder that the rossoneri youth team are the holders of the trophy and have won the prestigious youth tournament a record 9 times. This year’s edition marks appearance number 65 for Milan. Only Fiorentina have taken part on more occasions, and this year will be the Tuscans’ 66th appearance. 
PHOTOS FROM THE MATCH AGAINST PSVMilan have played a total of 265 matches in the Viareggio Cup with a record of 150 wins, 61 draws and 54 defeats. Milan have scored 473 goals and conceded 229 goals. Here is a list of Milan’s nine triumphs at the youth tournament: 1949 (5-1 victory over Lazio), 1952 (3-1 victory over Partizan Belgrade, 1953 (1-0 victory over Juventus), 1957 (4-1 victory over Roma), 1959 (2-1 victory over Partizan Belgrade, 1960 (1-0 victory a.e.t over Dukla Prague), 1999 (1-0 victory over Varteks), 2001 (3-1 victory over Vitoria) and 2014 (3-1 victory a.e.t over Anderlecht). Milan have also reached the final on 7 occasions: (1956, 1970, 1971, 1976, 1977, 1993, 2013), 4 times third (1954, 1965, 1966, 1986) and 8 times fourth (1961, 1962, 1967, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1998). Milan’s biggest win in the Viareggio Tournament was a 9-0 victory over Malaysian Indian on the 31st of January 2008 in the group stages. Milan’s biggest two defeats meanwhile were at the hands of Ferencvaros in 1964 and Parma in 2012. The score-line on both occasions was 4-0.